Philips The One (75PUS8505) - Ambilight (2020)

Philips The One (75PUS8505) - Ambilight (2020)

Never available again

View alternatives below View alternatives in the sidebar

Available Second Chance product

Affordable Second Chance from 1.141,-

Similar televisions



Alternatives


Product information

Key specs

Screen size
75 inches
Recommended viewing distance to TV
3.5 - 5.5m
Image quality
Good
Smart platform
Android
Refresh rate
50 Hz

Pros and cons

According to our television expert
  • Thanks to the 10-bit panel, this TV lets you watch realistic and colorful HDR images.
  • The Android TV operating system brings live television, apps, and Internet together in a clear overview.
  • Ambilight illuminates the wall behind the TV in the colors of the image.
  • Due to the 50Hz refresh rate, fast images aren't always shown smoothly.
Product Expert televisions

Description

With the Philips The One 75PUS8505 - Ambilight, high image quality and useful functions are guaranteed. The 4K resolution and the 10-bit panel allow you to view sharp, colorful images. This way, you don't have to miss any detail and you can also see the subtle shades in shadows or a blue sky, for example. The P5 processor improves the image from any source, so you always have the best possible image quality. Via the Android smart platform, you have access to a wide range of apps in an orderly menu. This way, you can easily stream your favorite movies and series. Thanks to Ambilight, your viewing experience will be even better. This technique shines light in the color of the image on the wall behind the TV.

With the Philips The One 75PUS8505 - Ambilight, high image quality and useful functions are guaranteed. The 4K resolution and the 10-bit panel allow you to view sharp, colorful images. This way, you don't have to miss any detail and you can also see the subtle shades in shadows or a blue sky, for example. The P5 processor improves the image from any source, so you always have the best possible image quality. Via the Android smart platform, you have access to a wide range of apps in an orderly menu. This way, you can easily stream your favorite movies and series. Thanks to Ambilight, your viewing experience will be even better. This technique shines light in the color of the image on the wall behind the TV.


Included by default

  • Manual (1.75 MB)
  • Quick start guide
  • Remote
  • Batteries (2x)
  • Leg stands
  • Power cable

Included by default

  • Manual (1.75 MB)
  • Quick start guide
  • Remote
  • Batteries (2x)
  • Leg stands
  • Power cable

Tips for using this product

Read our tips and find out all about how to set up your product and use it the right way.

Key specs

Screen size
75 inches
Recommended viewing distance to TV
3.5 - 5.5m
Image quality
Good
Smart platform
Android
Refresh rate
50 Hz



Reviews

Most helpful reviews

  • 4.5 / 5 stars
    8,8/10
    Best price for this quality

    Cem Ekici | 13 October 2020 | In the version: 58 inches | No soundbar

    • Best quality/price ratio
    • Supports all types of HDR: HDR10, HDR10+, Dolby Vision
    • Amazing 3-sided ambilight when watching movies
    • Built-in Chromecast & Android TV
    • Quality design
    • Low refresh rate: 50Hz
    • Moderate sound (same for all modern slim TVs)
    • Heavy and unnecessarily big remote control

    I prefer LED TV over OLED TV because of burn-in possibilities in OLED TVs. I fear to have it after watching the same TV channel or playing some football games with the statically positioned scoreboard for a long time. I don't want to risk it after spending a lot of money on a TV. I think this TV is one of the best LED TVs that you can get, especially for this price.

    I have 58-inch version, which is the perfect size when there is 3 meters distance to the couch. The image quality is amazing. Some products in Netflix and Amazon Prime supports HDR10+ and Dolby Vision, the difference is noticeable.

    Ambilight helps to keep your focus on the movie. Also, it amazes all my friends already! You can set it by using video and audio easily with a dedicated button on the remote. When listening to music using the Spotify app, I set it to audio and the colors around keeps my mood high.

    I don't like the sound quality much and bought a separate soundbar with a subwoofer. It's not a must, but in my opinion very nice to have. Losing bass sounds especially when watching movies is not nice in my experience.

    I stated 50Hz as a low refresh rate as a con, but honestly, it hasn't bothered me. 100Hz should be better, but I haven't had any experience in a TV with a 100Hz refresh rate so I can't compare.

    Cem Ekici | 13 October 2020 | In the version: 58 inches | No soundbar
  • 5 / 5 stars
    10/10
    superbeeld supergeluid mooi design in een woord fantastisch.

    A. van Reijmersdal | 11 January 2021 | In the version: 43 inches | No soundbar

    • superbeeld ook de zwart waarden zijn goed
    • super goed geluid door zijn eigen sondbar
    • geheel verlichte afstandbediening.
    • makkelijk te installeren en extra op hang materiaal.
    • 2 voeten voor sondbar om aan de muur te hagen of neer te zetten.
    • hangt vrij ver van de muur.
    • ambilight als aan de muur hangt onderkant niet geheel verlicht.

    Mooie om naar te kijken ook als hij uit staat.
    TV lijkt te zweven boven de soundbar.
    Goede schuine in kijk hoek en zeer scherp beeld
    geluid klinkt zeer goed heb er nog een subwoofer bij gezet en het is af.
    ben zeker zeer tevreden over deze tv en kan hem alleen maar aan raden.

    A. van Reijmersdal | 11 January 2021 | In the version: 43 inches | No soundbar
  • 5 / 5 stars
    9,5/10
    Just love it

    Subhadeep Sen | 20 February 2021 | In the version: 50 inches | No soundbar

    • Nice image quality
    • Nothing as such

    This TV without flaw

    Subhadeep Sen | 20 February 2021 | In the version: 50 inches | No soundbar
  • 5 / 5 stars
    9,6/10
    Great product for the price.
    • Surprisingly good sound, even the bass line
    • Easy installation and connection

    My tv cupboard is too high (old model), but the picture is clear even when I'm watching tv from below. Old TV couldn't do that!

    Monica | 2 July 2021 | In the version: 43 inches | No soundbar
  • 4 / 5 stars
    8,0/10
    Ambilight is the only reason to buy this product for me...

    Average brand, average quality, and of course average price... If It has not the Ambilight, not sure If I still wanna buy this. I am satisfied so far...

    Burak UYSAL | 31 January 2021 | In the version: 58 inches | No soundbar
  • 5 / 5 stars
    9,5/10
    highly recommended

    Image clarity

    Atirek | 23 March 2021 | In the version: 65 inches | No soundbar
  • 4 / 5 stars
    8,0/10
    I love ambilight, really nice for colourful video games

    Nice TV, I've bought it to play on it with my nintendo switch, it's doing the expected job for such a gaming console

    Florent Bossart | 4 July 2021 | In the version: 43 inches | No soundbar
  • 5 / 5 stars
    10/10
    highly recommended!
    • clean design, good image quality, clear instruction, various applications. ambilight is a big bonus.
    • in standby mode (still connected to the main power), TV can be switched on easily by a small move of the connected mouse

    Good TV, meet my needs

    Yinan Chen | 11 October 2020 | In the version: 58 inches | No soundbar
  • 5 / 5 stars
    9,5/10
    Awesome television for a decent price
    • Ambilight 3
    • Android TV
    • Size
    • None

    Amazing that the tv changes modes automatically when you watch a movie, listen to music or play a game on the xbox

    Kim Van Campenhout | 27 May 2021 | In the version: 58 inches | No soundbar
  • 5 / 5 stars
    9,6/10
    Ticks all the boxes... and then some!
    • Easy to set up
    • We can use it with Bluetooth earphones
    • It has a built-in swivel function
    • Loads of apps to use - all major streaming services
    • Very good picture quality
    • Still working out optimum picture colour settings
    • Personally I would prefer a black frame instead of silver

    Apart from usual smart/tv functions, we are very happy with the bluetooth function (able to watch tv without disturbing others) and ambilight is quite a cool feature!

    Esther Dreyer | 9 August 2021 | In the version: 43 inches | No soundbar

Insure your television

You can select one of the insurances below in your shopping cart. It will protect your brand new television against damage and/or theft.

Philips The One (75PUS8505) - Ambilight (2020)

Specifications

Product

Product number
873708
Manufacturer code
75PUS8505/12
Brand
Philips
Warranty
2 years
Warranty type
On-site service
Old product returned for free
Yes

Belangrijkste eigenschappen

Image quality
Good
Screen type
LED-LCD
Screen size
75 inches
Recommended viewing distance to TV
3.5 - 5.5m
Sharpness
4K (UHD)
Refresh rate
50 Hz
Color depth
1 billion colors (10 bit)
Recommended for (television use)
Stream series and movies, Watch standard channels

Screen expanded

Quality viewing angle
Standard
Pixel structure
RGB
Local dimming
Yes
Type local dimming
Back lit
HDR support
Yes
Type of HDR
Dolby Vision, HDR10, HDR10+, HLG
Input lag
33 ms
Processor cores
Quad-Core (4)
Perfect Motion Rate (Philips)
2000

Smart TV

Smart TV
Yes
Smart platform type
Extensive
Smart platform
Android
Guaranteed support with updates
24 months after release date
Integrated WiFi
Yes
Bluetooth
Yes
DLNA
Yes
AirPlay
No
Media player
Yes

Audio

Sound quality
Standard
Built-in soundbar
No
Number of speakers
2
Continuous/nominal total output capacity (RMS)
20 W
Subwoofer
No
Dolby Atmos support
Yes

Special properties

Sleep timer
Yes
Light sensor
Yes
Teletext
Yes
Best tested
No
Pivotable stand
No
Ambilight
Yes
Ambilight type
3-sided Ambilight

Controls

Controlled via app
Yes
Controlled via Android app
Yes
Controlled via Apple app
Yes
Remote control included
Yes
Voice control
Yes

Properties for use CI+ module

CI/CI+ slot
Yes
Supported by provider
Ziggo
Digital tuner
Yes
Digital video signal
Cable (DVB-C), Digitenne (DVB-T), Digitenne (DVB-T2), Satellite (DVB-S), Satellite (DVB-S2)
DVB-T Twin tuner
No
DVB-S Twin tuner
No

Ports

Antenna connector
Yes
HDMI connection
Yes
Female HDMI Type A port version
2.0