Written by Lisanne

How do I return Apple Macbook to factory settings?

If you're going to sell or give away your Apple MacBook, it's important to remove all your personal information. In case of technical defects, you have to restore your Apple MacBook to the factory settings as well. In this article, we'll explain how to do this in 3 steps.

Step 1: log out of your accounts

To prevent the future owner from getting access to your information, you have to log out of your accounts. You need to do this for iTunes, iCloud, and iMessage separately.

Log out of iTunes

Log out of iTunes

To log out of iTunes, follow these steps:

  • Open iTunes.
  • In the navigation bar at the top of the screen, click Account
  • Click Authorizations.
  • Click Deauthorize this computer
  • Enter your Apple ID and password
  • Click Deauthorize

Log out of iCloud

Follow these steps to log out of iCloud:

  • Click on the Apple logo in the top left corner of your screen.
  • Click System Preferences.
  • Click Internet Accounts and then select iCloud.
  • Untick the box next to Find My Mac
  • Click Overview in the sidebar.
  • Click Log out

Log out of iMessage

Follow these steps to log out of iMessage:

  • Open the iMessage app.
  • Click Messages at the top of your screen.
  • Click Preferences.
  • Click iMessage
  • Click Log out

Step 2: erase the drive

Now it's time to actually clear your Apple MacBook. You use Recovery Mode for this.

Boot via macOS Recovery

macOS recovery

Boot your MacBook in recovery mode:

  • Click on the Apple logo in the top left corner of your screen.
  • Click Restart.
  • During restart, press the Command key and the R key at the same time.
  • Keep both keys pressed down until you see the Recovery Mode appear on your screen.

Erase the boot drive

Now, erase the hard drive of your MacBook. Follow these steps:

  • Click Disk Utility in the Utilities screen.
  • Select the drive you want to erase in the menu. The boot drive is at the top.
  • Click Erase at the top of your menu.
  • If you want, change the Name, Format, and Scheme of the drive.
  • Click Erase
  • Enter your Apple ID and password.
  • Wait until the drive is erased and then close Disk Utility.

Step 3. reinstall macOS

Once the drive is erased, you can reinstall macOS.

  • Click Reinstall macOS
  • Click Continue
  • Select a boot drive and click Install
  • Once the installation is completed, restart your MacBook.
  • Wait until your MacBook has restarted.
  • Press the Command key and the Q key to shut down your MacBook.


© 1999 - 2021 - Coolblue B.V.
Customer rating: 9.2 / 10 - 21,893 reviews